Home > Poems > The Bird of Many Colors

The Bird of Many Colors

The Bird of Many Colors

I saw a bird, her colors bright
Indeed my friends, she was a sight
Her wings were made of silk and air
Her eyes were gold, but would I dare

I said “Hello” and she said “Hi”
And then the hours just went by
She told a secret, I told two
There were some more I wanted to

“See what I wrote” She showed a poem
And in my heart a light went on
I spoke to her, she read my mind
Who she was, I had to find

“What kind of bird are you” I asked
“I cannot say, for I am masked”
“Let me unveil the mask you wear”
“I cannot let you do that sir”

She spread her wings, about to fly
My heart was hurt, I cannot lie
“You touched my soul, oh please don’t go”
“I won’t fly high, I will stay low”

But I knew that it couldn’t be
This bird I like is not for me
My heart flies high, It has to soar
I cannot compromise my soul

She flew away, it was the end
Leaving me with wounds to mend
And as she took one look behind
I took away my heart and mind

Categories: Poems
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

