Home > Poems > The Triple Threat

The Triple Threat

A fool I was, a foolish man
From past mistakes I should’ve learned
I saw her colors once, indeed
To try again there was no need

Yet I was drawn, could not avoid
That bleeding heart, so filled with void
That cruel style, which hid inside
A sweeter manner, a softer hide

The second time, I thought – a change
Yet she was still out of my range
Wounded, I made my retreat
I cursed myself, twice was I hit

But I could not just stay away
I took my third chance, with a pray
Perhaps from all those seeds I’ve sown
A pretty flower could have grown

I felt her warmth, I was inspired
But I kept cautious on my side
For I have played the game for long
Things that start right tend to end wrong

But days went by, and she warmed up
In many layers she was wrapped
I stayed patient, it all went fine
With time, I hoped, she will be mine

Imagine how I was surprised
When in one night, again it died
The warmth withdrawn, the flame put out
One soul who got me, one soul apart

My darkness now is mine alone
Misunderstood, like all along
To always feel this endless pain
My eyes are dry. My tears are rain

Categories: Poems
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

