Home > Poems > The last battle

The last battle

I’ve felt the light of a thousand suns
It shone so bright, but then was gone
It touched me deeply, and gave me hope
Though as I knew, it had to stop

I thought perhaps my life won’t be
As empty as they might have been
I thought perhaps that I would see
A brighter future than foreseen

Was it too much to ask or pray
To have a reason here to stay
Was it too much, I ask you god?
Now everything is twice as bad

You gave, and took, and there’s no other
I wonder why I even bother
Well, nothing matters any more
My wounds are open, my heart is sore

And as the curtains draw so near
So very little left to fear
My life now is just one regret
A dead man’s dream inside my chest

Categories: Poems
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

